Man’s best friend

“She was the first animal I really cared about,” my daughter said through tears. I sat holding her even though it was past bedtime and we were both beyond tired.

Our dog, Dixie, passed away yesterday. She was old and had been sick so no real shock, but it is still surreal. I know I am not unique in the loss of a pet. Many of us have lost pets and to that I say “You are not alone. I am here with you.” Some people don’t fully understand when someone is grieving a pet because they weren’t human. True it may not be the same kind of grief, but grief is still grief.

We can also grieve life changes – job losses, illnesses, failed relationships, etc. Life isn’t always easy. It’s not always sunshine and sangria. Sometimes it’s hurricanes and sour vinegar.

As I navigate the death of our beloved Dixie girl with my children, we cry and we pray and we share memories. We make time to sit together and hug, wipe tears, and just be together. Dixie had been around for their whole lives, so now there is a void. What had caused a void in your life?

What has caused a void in your life?

People deal with the voids in their lives in many different ways, both good and bad. But the first thing we should do is not something of this world, but someone out of this world. We should look to God, who will always be there when we grieve, when there is a void in our lives.

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭34:18‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Remember, friends, that God is close to us when we grieve or struggle through a void that’s been left in our lives. He is near and we can turn and sit in His lap while He comforts us. I’m praying for you!

Leave a comment